Big Reveal of Baby Reinert

Obviously, we are beyond excited that we will be welcoming a new addition to our family this November. And since we recently  celebrated another major milestone – buying a house – we decided to host a joint housewarming and baby gender reveal party for our family and friends.

I went with a blue and pink, mustache and lips theme and created this fun little invite a few weeks before we found out for sure what we were having.

I wanted to do something different to reveal our baby’s gender so I made a piñata and filled it with colored candies and streamers. (More on how the piñata was made in an upcoming post!)

We asked guests to guess “boy or girl” by picking either the blue mustache or pink lips. Here is a picture of everyone who guessed we were having a boy.

We had pretty even numbers between boy guesses and girl guesses. Even Millie joined in on the fun as she ran up to Brandon and I right before we took the “girl” picture.

We asked the son of one of Brandon’s softball buddies to do the honors and after tons of worry on my end that the piñata wouldn’t hold, it broke perfectly and a rush of streamers came out …

… in PINK! Even though we only found out we were having a girl a few days before the party, it was very hard to keep it under wraps – but it was definitely worth it!

Brandon and I are so excited for our little girl! We both wore blue AND pink for the party and I’ll admit I tried to throw people off here and there when I could. 🙂

Now that we know what we’re having, the clothes shopping and nursery decorating has officially begun! We’ve got a lot to do before November, but we’re looking forward to every second of it.


Book Report: “Then Came You” by Jennifer Weiner

I actually picked up this book because I couldn’t find “Fifty Shades Free” at my local Target. I read the back cover and after realizing it was a story about pregnancy and having babies, I couldn’t help but buy it.

I took it with me on my trip to New Jersey and New York and finished it two weeks later on my way back from a trip to Phoenix. It turned out to be a really great traveling book – even though I couldn’t find much time to read it while I was running around in Orlando, whenever I was out of town I couldn’t help but pick it back up every chance I got.

The story is actually more about unconventional pregnancy options like egg donation and surrogacy but I still found myself relating to a number of the characters and especially situations throughout.

I would definitely recommend this one – and not just if you have kids or are expecting.

About annareinert

I am an assistant magazine editor in the hospitality and tourism industry.

Leave a comment