New York State of Mind

Posted on

I have so many posts to catch up on! So, sorry if some of these get posted out of chronological order.

One of the things on my 30 Before 30 list (yay, I’m actually starting to cross a bunch of these off!) was taking a trip to the Big Apple. And while we were only there for a couple days, I’m happy to say we officially saw NYC!

We were able to tie this trip in with Brandon’s cousin, Troy’s, wedding in New Jersey. The wedding was beautiful, the reception was super fun and the couple looked absolutely stunning! Yes, even Troy! Here’s a pic of Brandon and I before the ceremony.

The day right after the wedding, we swiftly high-tailed it out of town to head to New York. Our friends Tom and Sandra picked us up and took us out for some hipster soul food – then the next day we went sight seeing! Our first stop was a boat tour where we saw Lady Liberty.

The tour went around the entire island of Manhattan and took a total of three hours! We got to see a lot of neat stuff along the way and I made sure we got a picture of BrandAnna (and baby!) in front of the city skyline. Look, it’s the Empire State Building!

Next stop was Times Square. I’ll admit it wasn’t as busy as it looks on TV, I expected a lot more hustle and bustle, but the giant screens and ads were just as I expected and very cool to see in person. We even saw where they used to film TRL!

Crossing another item off my little bucket list, we went to Tiffany & Co. and although I wasn’t expecting it, I walked out with my very own Tiffany-blue box with a very special gift inside! Brandon got me a Tiffany bean necklace – to signify our own little bean. 🙂

We made a stop at the gorgeous St. Patrick’s Cathedral and took a few minutes to walk through the beautiful aisles and pews. We didn’t know if we were having a boy or girl yet, but before we left, Brandon and I lit a candle and said a couple prayers for our little baby-to-be.

I love the show “30 Rock,” so I got really excited when I saw the front of Rockefeller Center! Something I would love to add to a future bucket list would be to come back and see the city – especially Rockefeller Plaza – at Christmastime … some day.

Alright, when I was younger I really wanted to be a Rockette. And then I found out that you have to be a certain height to even audition to be a part of the elite, high-kicking squad. So, needless to say, this is about as close as I’ll ever get to the Radio City stage.

A full day of downtown sight seeing was enough for me, so after resting a bit that night, we headed out again the next day to Coney Island. Brandon rode a bunch of the rides – while I sat and watched 😦 – but I was sure to get a Nathan’s hot dog before we left!

We crammed a whole lot into a very little amount of time, but it turned out to be a great trip! Thanks to our hosts Sandra and Tom for showing us a good time – we’ll be back soon!


Book Report: “Fifty Shades of Grey” by E.L. James

Alright, unless you’re living under a rock, you’ve heard about the Fifty Shades series. I’m currently on the third book because at this point I am completely invested in the series and must finish it and find out how it ends!

To be honest, if you’re looking for a book to stimulate your brain and get you thinking – don’t bother wasting your time on this one. The writing isn’t great and a lot of the dialogue is extremely corny but I like the story – no matter how unrealistic it is.

Besides the content (which is definitely risque, so be warned!), the book feels like it was written for teenagers. It is full of repetitive and easy-to-understand language, which makes it a quick and easy read – you could probably read the whole series within a long weekend.

If you are like me and can’t possibly pass up a book that is such a hot topic pretty much everywhere you go, then definitely go for it! But don’t say I didn’t warn you!

About annareinert

I am an assistant magazine editor in the hospitality and tourism industry.

Leave a comment