Attack of the Mini-Posts

Brandon has informed me that I have been seriously slacking in the blogging department. It’s not for lack of blog topics because we have had tons of stuff going on – it’s more about finding the time to sit down and type it all out!

Since I have lots to share and I don’t want to overload everyone with multiple “new post” notifications, I am putting together a few of the posts I’ve been meaning to write … all in one, super fun summary. Enjoy!

Love to Love Valentine’s Day

Unlike my oh-so-romantic husband who thinks Valentine’s Day is a made-up holiday, I love celebrating the ones I love with fun crafts and candy!

This year I continued my owl-themed holidays with my favorite wide-eyed birds on some seriously sweet cards and bags. I started by clearing out the Valentine’s Day aisle at Jo-Ann Fabrics.

I situated myself on the couch with a craft assembly line in front of me and some of my favorite shows on the TV and set to making multiple pink, red and white owl Valentines.

These cute owls bags (from my sister) made for the perfect package for my Valentine’s Day goodies. I put a special V-Day mini Fruit by the Foot in each of the bags as well for a sweet little treat.

Brandon and I kept it simple with a bottle of wine and some quality couch time catching up on our latest TV obsession: “Smallville.” I hope you and yours had a great Valentine’s Day, too!

Race, Love, Wish 2012

Every year, Chi Omega at UCF holds a 5K (Race, Love, Wish) to benefit the sorority’s national philanthropy, Make-A-Wish. Last year a very little Millie had to stay on the sidelines with some sorority girls (who didn’t seem to mind) while Lina and I made our way through the race.

This year, Lina and I are both advisors at UCF, so we were more than happy to support our girls, our sorority and of course, the fabulous Make-A-Wish foundation.

Lina and I kept up a steady walk this year while Millie and Brandon on the other hand ran the entire race! Here they are crossing the finish line.

Out of more than 500 participants, Lina and I took our time and crossed the finish line at 399 and 400. Brandon jogged his way to 219 and we like to say that Millie came in at 218 1/2!

We had a great day and I was so proud of Millie (and Brandon for that matter!) for running the whole thing. I wish I had that kind of endurance!

No. 1 Fan of the No. 1 Fan

We’ve been lucky in that we’ve had a number of Orlando Magic hookups over the past few years and have got to go to a ton of games both in the old Amway Arena and the new, amazing Amway Center.

This past weekend my mom took me to a game courtesy of her work. The day of the game, we found out we had been upgraded to even better seats and dinner in the Mercedes Benz Lounge.

After enjoying our free dinner and drinks, we headed to our seats – fifth row behind the visitor’s bench. It was definitely the closest I’ve ever been to the court during one of the games!

Of course, I wore my Stuff hat and my new “I ♥ Stuff” shirt because I am Stuff’s No. 1 fan (I even dressed up as Stuff for Halloween this year!) and I got some love from the man (err, sort of) himself!

We had so much fun at the game – especially since the Magic pulled out a win at the end – and because I know she reads my blog, I have to give a shout out and THANK YOU to my mom! ♥ you!

Movin’ On Up

We’ve had so much going on the past few weeks, but probably the most exciting thing (for us anyway) is that we put an offer on a house! Yep, BrandAnna has taken the plunge. Like I said in my House Hunting post, I’ve been looking for a while to get the feel of our neighborhood so when something that fit our criteria popped up, we didn’t waste any time before we jumped on it.

It’s a short sale, so unfortunately it could take several months before we’re in our new home and there is always the chance that it could fall through later on, which would be super sad since we really love it. I’ll be posting more updates as the process progresses but here is a look at the front of the house in the mean time.

We’re very excited and I hope to share more news on the house sooner rather than later. For now, we are waiting – and saving – until we hear back from the bank. And although I can’t wait to move … I am dreading packing up all the junk we’ve collected throughout our current house over the past three years. It’ll all be worth it though!

About annareinert

I am an assistant magazine editor in the hospitality and tourism industry.

One response »

  1. Thanks for the shout out …. I love you ho!

    Reply

Leave a comment