Songs to Inspire

Sometimes you need a little bit of mood music to get you going on a particularly tough day or to bring you down from a stressful situation. I definitely have my own list of go-to tunes to get me in the mood – whether I need a little bit of cheering up or to let it all out.

When I need a little motivation:

  1. “Feels Like Today” by Rascal Flatts – When I was looking for my first job I pretty much listened to this song every day. It kept me motivated and hopeful that something great was coming!
  2. “I Hope You Dance” by Lee Ann Womack – In high school my friends and I used to sing this song all the time! And even now, every time I hear it I can’t help but belt along and feel inspired.
  3. “Jesus Take the Wheel” by Carrie Underwood – I had a really bad week during my last summer in college: I didn’t have a place to live, I crashed my car and I listened to this song EVERY day.
  4. “My Wish” by Rascal Flatts – This song came out when I graduated college. My favorite line: “I hope you never look back, but you never forget all the ones who love you in the place you left.”

When I’ve had a bad day:

  1. “Keep Your Head Up” by Andy Grammer – It’s hard not to believe the words of someone who speaks from experience. This guy was literally living on the street when he wrote this song.
  2. “Bad Day” by Daniel Powder – This one seems obvious, right? Somehow, it always seems to put me in a better mood when my day – or month – has been less than pleasant.
  3. “Look After You” by The Fray –  I had a major Fray obsession in college and still love listening to their “How to Save a Life” album. It has since died down, but this song still gets to me.
  4. “Oxford Comma” by Vampire Weekend – Anything by Vampire Weekend can calm me down. They are really chill and have a whole slew of songs perfect for all kinds of moodiness.

When I’m getting ready to go out:

  1. “Let’s Get It Started” by The Black Eyed Peas – The entire “Elephunk” album would be blasting when I was getting ready for or on my way to a party, bar, social … you name it. I still love it!
  2. “Girls Just Want to Have Fun” by Cyndi Lauper – In my sorority house we would play music in the upstairs bathroom as we got ready for events and it doesn’t get better than this girly anthem.
  3. “Jessie’s Girl” by Rick Springfield – Nothing makes me feel like dancing and having a good time like “Jessie’s Girl”! It makes me miss my girls and my good ol’ college days.
  4. “Only Girl in the World” by Rihanna – I can’t get enough of belting out Rihanna songs and this is one that I literally scream rather than sing, whether I’m at a bar or in the car.

When I feel like screaming:

  1. “Shame for You” by Lily Allen –  I love Lily because she’s bitter, raunchy and bold – she says all the things I feel like saying when I’m really mad, but would never dare utter out loud.
  2. “Addicted” by Kelly Clarkson – No one does angry ex-girlfriend better than Kelly! And while I don’t have the crazy boy drama (thank goodness) that she usually sings about, it feels good to sing loudly along.
  3. “Walk Away” by Christina Aguilera – Here’s another one who’s good at telling off both guys and girls – whoever deserves it. When I wish I could yell at someone, I sing some Xtina songs instead.
  4. “Rumour Has It” by Adele – I seriously hope they don’t start playing this song on the radio because I’d be bummed if it got played out and I got tired of singing it on my way home from a bad day.

So, now it’s your turn! What are the songs that inspire you?


Book Report: “Kitchen Chinese” by Ann Mah

Another Book Club read, this novel was chosen because it was written by a Chi Omega. It was also a welcome departure from the more serious and scientific books that the group had read in the months prior.

It’s about a Chinese-American woman who works as a magazine fact-checker (I can relate to that) who loses her job in New York (thankfully I can’t relate to that) and decides to move to China to live with her sister – who she never really got close to when they were growing up.

Along the way she makes new friends, meets some interesting and very high-profile guys (by Chinese standards at least) and gets a job writing about food.

The book is really light and fun, and while I didn’t relate to the Chinese parts of the book so much, I could relate to some of the interactions with her sister. Overall it was a good read, but maybe one that you borrow from the library rather than pay for at the book store.

About annareinert

I am an assistant magazine editor in the hospitality and tourism industry.

Leave a comment